Wichita attorney appointed to Kansas Judicial Council

Chief Justice Lawton Nuss of the Kansas Supreme Court appointed F. James Robinson Jr., Wichita, to a vacancy on the Kansas Judicial Council. His term on the Judicial Council will expire June 30, 2021.

Robinson is a senior partner with the law firm of Hite, Fanning & Honeyman, Wichita. He joined the firm after graduating from the University of Kansas School of Law in 1983. He earned a bachelor's degree from Southwestern College.

Robinson succeeds J. Nick Badgerow of Overland Park, who retired from the council after serving since 1994. Badgerow is a partner in the law firm of Spencer Fane and is based at its Overland Park office.

"The Judicial Council is honored to have someone with Jim’s experience, qualifications, and outstanding reputation agree to serve on the council," Nuss said. "Jim has devoted himself to improving and defending the judicial system and will undoubtedly continue doing so as a member of the council."

The Judicial Council reviews the administration of justice in Kansas. It can recommend to the Supreme Court or the Kansas Legislature changes regarding specific areas of the law or rules used by the courts. The council also can be asked to draft legislation and court rules. The council produces books and manuals, publishes legal forms for use in the state's courts, and prepares jury instructions.

The 10-member council includes one member of the Kansas Supreme Court, one member of the Kansas Court of Appeals, two district court judges and four practicing attorneys, all appointed by the chief justice. The chairs of the Kansas House and Kansas Senate judiciary committees also are members. Supreme Court Justice Marla Luckert chairs the council. Other members are: Rep. Blaine Finch, Ottawa. Judge Stephen Hill, Kansas Court of Appeals, Topeka. Joseph Jeter, Hays. Chief Judge Mike Keeley, Great Bend, of the 20th Judicial District, composed of Barton, Ellsworth, Rice, Russell, and Stafford counties. Stephen Robison, Wichita. District Judge Maritza Segarra, Junction City, who serves in Geary County of the 8th Judicial District. Sarah Shattuck, Ashland. Sen. Rick Wilborn, McPherson.

Mary Shultz