Attorneys appointed to State Disciplinary Board

5 attorneys were reappointed to four-year terms on the Kansas Board for Discipline of Attorneys. Chief Justice Lawton Nuss of the Kansas Supreme Court made the appointments. Their terms end June 30, 2022. In addition, Nuss appointed three attorneys to complete vacant terms on the board.

Those reappointed to four-year terms: Stephen Cavanaugh, Topeka. Glenn Kerbs, Dodge City. John Larson, Shawnee. Gaye Tibbets, Wichita. Sarah Warner, Lawrence.

Those appointed to complete unexpired terms: Stacy Ortega, Wichita, whose term expires June 30, 2020. Terry Mann, Wichita, whose term expires June 30, 2021. Kala Spigarelli, Pittsburg, whose term expires June 30, 2021.

The Kansas Disciplinary Administrator's Office reviews complaints of misconduct against lawyers, conducts investigations, presents cases to the board, and makes recommendations as to the disposition of the complaints. John Gatz, Colby, is chair and Derrick Roberson, Manhattan, is vice chair. They serve on the review committee, along with at-large member Leslie Miller, Lawrence. They review all cases docketed for investigation and issue a report on the disposition of the case, which may be dismissal (with or without a letter of caution), diversion, informal admonition, or institution of formal charges. Members of the board—made up of lawyers from across the state—meet in three-person panels, which include two board members and one at-large attorney, to conduct hearings in cases where the review committee has found probable cause that a lawyer has violated the Kansas Rules of Professional Conduct and that published discipline is warranted.

Other members of the board are: Gregory Bauer, Great Bend. Jeffrey Chubb, Independence. S. Lucky DeFries, Topeka. Shaye Downing, Lawrence. John Duma, Olathe. Kathryn Marsh, Leawood. Mira Mdivani, Overland Park. James Rankin, Topeka. Lee Smithyman, Overland Park. Darcy Williamson, Topeka

Mary Shultz