Lawrence lawyer honored for outstanding service to continuing legal education in Kansas

Laura Shaneyfelt, Lawrence, is the 2019 recipient of the Robert L. Gernon Award presented by the Kansas Continuing Legal Education Commission.

 Shaneyfelt is the Criminal Justice Act resource counsel for the Kansas Federal Public Defender Office.

 Established in 2005, the Gernon Award recognizes individuals or organizations demonstrating a unique commitment to legal education for lawyers in Kansas and providing outstanding service to continuing legal education.

 She graduated with a degree in journalism from Kansas State University in 1982 and from the University of Kansas School of Law in 1985. She practiced law for 30 years in Wichita before joining the Kansas Federal Defender Office in 2014.

 She has served as president of the Wichita Women Attorneys Association, was honored with that organization’s Louise Maddox award in 2008, and was included in the Top 20 Women in Business by the Wichita Business Journal in 2013.

 Justice Robert Gernon served on the Kansas Supreme Court from 2003 until his death in 2005 and previously on the Kansas Court of Appeals from 1988 to 2003. He worked to improve the training, education, and professionalism of attorneys in Kansas and across the nation.

 The award will be presented in October in Lawrence.

 Past award recipients are:

  • 2018—Stephen Angermeyer, Pittsburg

  • 2017—David E. Pierce, Topeka

  • 2016—Foulston Siefkin law firm, Wichita, Topeka, and Kansas City

  • 2015—Jan Hamilton, Topeka

  • 2014—Steve Obermeier, Olathe

  • 2013—Robert Collins, Wichita

  • 2012—Cynthia Grimes, Lenexa

  • 2011—J. Nick Badgerow, Overland Park

  • 2010—Jack Scott McInteer, Wichita

  • 2009—Mira Mdivani, Overland Park

  • 2008—Sheila Reynolds, Topeka

  • 2007—District Judge Robert J. Schmisseur, Pratt

  • 2006—Philip Bowman, Wichita

Mary Shultz